Home / Civil Litigation / Criminal DUI/DWI

If You’ve Been Caught Driving Drunk, Lawyers In Central Arkansas & Saline County Can Help

Call an attorney as soon as possible

If you are pulled over for drunken driving, what you do next will make a critical difference to your future. Arkansas law is very strict. You could end up with large fines, loss of your driver’s license and even jail time. If you see flashing lights in your car mirror, pull over as soon as you possibly can. Remain composed and be respectful to law enforcement. If they ask for your license and car registration, give it to them quickly and calmly.

If you are asked to take a chemical test, and refuse, be advised that Akransas has an implied consent law, which means if you refuse you will be subject to a six-month license revocation for your first offense, two years for your second offense and three years for your third. A Saline County criminal defense lawyer will deal with the test results at a later date. To be considered driving drunk, your blood alcohol level must be at least .02 percent if you are under 21, .08 percent if you are 21 or over and .04 percent if you are a commercial driver. Take note that it is unlawful and punishable as provided for any person who is intoxicated to operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle per Ark. Code Ann. ยง 5-65-103.

For DWI there is no chance that the prosecutor will drop your case. Arkansas law specifically prohibits anyone (even the judge) from reducing a DWI to a lesser charge. However, multiple offense DWI (i.e. DWI – 2nd offense) can be reduced to a lesser DWI (i.e. DWI – 1st offense). For counsel on your specific circumstances, contact our offices.

What to do if you are arrested

If the police arrest you, go calmly. Ask to speak with a central Arkansas & Saline County DUI attorney and wait until one arrives. Huffman Butler, PLLC helps people arrested for drunk driving. Our attorneys have more than 20 years of combined experience and have helped hundreds of people. We represent your best interests, protect your rights and guide you through the entire process. We do everything possible to avoid conviction because the penalties in Arkansas are severe and can include:

First conviction

  • One day to one year in jail or public service
  • Seven days to one year in jail or public service if a child under 16 was in the vehicle
  • $150 โ€“ $1,000 in fines
  • Six-month license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol education or treatment program
  • Attendance at victim impact panel

Second conviction (within five years)

  • Seven days to one year in jail
  • 30 days to one year in jail if a child under 16 was in the vehicle
  • $400 โ€“ $3,000 in fines
  • 24-month license suspension
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device after 45 days of suspension
  • Alcohol education or treatment program
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Third conviction (within five years)

  • 90 days to one year in jail
  • 120 days to one year in jail if a child under 16 was in the vehicle
  • $900 โ€“ $5,000 in fines
  • 30-month license suspension
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device after one year
  • Minimum 90 days community service
  • Minimum 120 days community service if a child under 16 was in the vehicle
  • Alcohol education or treatment program
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Don’t delay getting representation. The sooner your call Huffman Butler, PLLC the better off you will be.

Professional, reliable drunk driving lawyers in Benton at your service

Huffman Butler, PLLC is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and our attorneys are available by appointment in the evening and on weekends. We are located in Benton, AR and serve clients throughout Central Arkansas, including Benton, Bryant, Conway, Little Rock, North Little Rock, Russellville, Hot Springs, Cabot, Searcy, Jacksonville, Malvern, Arkadelphia, Sheridan, Sherwood, Maumelle, Mayflower, Pine Bluff and all cities in Saline, Pulaski, Grant, Garland, Hot Spring, Perry, Conway, Faulkner, Pope, White, Clark, Lonoke and Jefferson Counties. You can reach us at 501-315-5297 or visit our contact us page.

    X

    Contact Form

    We will respond to your inquiry in a timely fashion. Thank you.

    Quick Contact Form